#Alive (2020) #살아있다 Movie Review | EONTALK

#Alive (2020) #살아있다 Movie Review | EONTALK

The movie review with English subtitles for “#Alive” #살아있다 (2020), brought to you by EonTalk.

Starring: Yoo Ah-In (유아인) and Park Shin-Hye (박신혜)
Release Date: June 24th 2020 (Korea).
#KoreanMovie #MovieReview

Support EonTalk on Patreon: https://www.patreon.com/eontalk
Join the EonTalk Telegram group: https://t.me/eontalk
Read Korean movie reviews: http://eontalk.com/

Follow me at:
• YouTube: https://youtube.com/c/eontalk
• Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/eontalkmovies
• Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/eontalk/

For Business & Other Contacts
Email: eontalk@gmail.com

**Disclaimer: The images and/or videos used are not owned by EonTalk. No copyright infringement intended.
© 2020 Lotte Entertainment

50 Comments

  1. Wins Salvador on May 1, 2022 at 7:02 pm

    It’s a zombie movie. Zombies naturally don’t make sense in the real world and there are no rules about them. Just two words to explain the non-science of it all – artistic liberty. I just like having a zombie brainless state in watching them and let the suspenseful scenes scrae the hell out of me. Yup, the Korean zombie fan in me is now dancing with delight.

  2. Sam Z. on May 1, 2022 at 7:04 pm

    An optical mistake at aroud 30th minutes, when the power went out. He looked out the window and the bridge was full of driving cars. But he still thinks that he is the last person….

  3. elgritton on May 1, 2022 at 7:06 pm

    Peninsula sucks, #alive is closer to reality on what a simple citizen would do. It’s simple and subtle,

  4. Coffee with Extra Suga on May 1, 2022 at 7:06 pm

    The movie was a good one but as you said, the ending killed it. It felt so flat and honestly they should’ve killed one or both characters in two main scenes when they had the opportunity to do so. SPOILERS :

    1. WHEN she was locked with that woman, if she was bitten and he shot her before she turns into a zombie.
    2. At the very end on top of the building, they could’ve just jumped and died before they turn into zombies. ( because that’s what I thought happened when he pointed the gun at her, I was like shiiiiiiiiit… But then no it’s not)
    It would’ve been a really good and impactful ending, but I guess they didn’t want to pull a train to Busan ending.

  5. Elitecamp27 on May 1, 2022 at 7:08 pm

    Overall it was a great film and i agree there were some moments that did’nt make any sense. 1) the one zombie that could climb using the rope. 2) WTH did that Helicopter come from and how did they not know it was there But overall it was a great movie.

  6. nueylu on May 1, 2022 at 7:09 pm

    Alive is the best graphical and goriest zombie movie I have ever seen so far. But I kept wondering how did the guy survived more than 5 days without water. Drinking alcohol from his dad’s collection definitely won’t help with hydration…

  7. Hàrshìt Chaudhary on May 1, 2022 at 7:11 pm

    BINOD

  8. wani on May 1, 2022 at 7:11 pm

    But the ending part same like world war z, i think😅

  9. sofiyarini ambarwati on May 1, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    Ah pelem zombie korea paling biasa yg pernah gw tonton

  10. N Torres on May 1, 2022 at 7:12 pm

    So who mesg him in
    The end?

  11. CDO Tzion Esther on May 1, 2022 at 7:13 pm

    I agreed that the movie was rush. I would have loved to see how Park Shin Hye survived those days and to se her expression of the outbreak. Other than that the movie was great.

    Spoiler
    I found it funny when firefighter zombie smile back at Yoo Ah In.

  12. Ten ._.S on May 1, 2022 at 7:14 pm

    Gotta say it’s a good movie… I think it is good that the movie starts abruptly as it allows the viewer to experience what the characters are feeling… The characters do not know what happened as everything happened so quickly… Thus, I think it is good that the movie started abruptly with limited back story…

  13. EggBeater on May 1, 2022 at 7:16 pm

    The most unrealistic part was how perfect Park Shin Hye’s hair was the whole time lol…. (and what you mentioned how they had no scratches on them thru-out the action scenes) it felt to me either she or the director still wanted her to look PRESENTABLE, in a ZOMBIE APOCALYPSE??
    Incredibly distracting and unrealistic

  14. kyla sapien on May 1, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    I just got done watching this on Netflix , I really liked it (: it kept me interested and I was excited to see how they would conclude their story, the unexpected turns made me want to continue watching and I glad i did !

  15. Patric T on May 1, 2022 at 7:18 pm

    Watch "the night eats the world" on Prime

  16. Mangolite on May 1, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    Although Alive was adapted from Alone, it is the far superior of the two. Alone had a much smaller budget, and at times, it felt like a student film, even scenes with the great Donald Sutherland. Alive, on the other hand, was tightly co-written by director Cho Il-Hyung with a higher Korean budget and had a better sense of direction. The Korean family flashback scene is effective and gets you, while Alone was too short and abruptly ended. Where Alive and Alone diverted is towards the end. Alive gives its female protagonist things to do, and she is the apt survivor, while Alone made the woman a damsel in distress for our male protagonist to save. I do like Alive’s ending over Alone. The conclusion fits the title of the movie and the theme of the film, unlike Alone, where we are unsure of the protagonists’ fate when the end credits roll.

  17. CDO Tzion Esther on May 1, 2022 at 7:21 pm

    SPOILER

    Something that really bugs me is the during the beginning of the film when the credits started rolling you can see a zombie that looked like Yoo Ah In like remembering the beginning of the outbreak that brings the audience to the door of his apartment.

  18. FoundationforBuilding -Scarbrough on May 1, 2022 at 7:22 pm

    Enjoyed the review. I felt that the zombies were introduced to early. I noticed perfect hairstyles, no bruises, and hanging from the balcony with no intensity. I agreed that Korean zombies movies are spectacular but this movie was not so good,as you explained.

  19. sam poe on May 1, 2022 at 7:22 pm

    worst…disappointing film

  20. Eggs a Cute Me on May 1, 2022 at 7:23 pm

    Aside from the main character being dumb from time to time I think it’s a really good movie

  21. Albert A. on May 1, 2022 at 7:24 pm

    Does anyone know the name of the song for the ending credits? I’m not talking about "Break" by Beezino. Thanks!

  22. Popy Neli on May 1, 2022 at 7:24 pm

    This is really 2 amazing I loveit

  23. Sharnalee Maaka on May 1, 2022 at 7:25 pm

    When the phone alarm went off it reminded me of going into lockdown for covid 😭😭

  24. Antonio C. on May 1, 2022 at 7:27 pm

    The movie was ok but turned into a big "MEH" with that ending.
    But theres this scene that i need to applaud tho, the scene were the zombie wife turn herself to FMC, god damn if that was freaking terrifying, the angle of the camera, the little hand drop and finally that make up, well done so far, the only thing I really enjoyed from the movie.

  25. Professor H. Farnsworth on May 1, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    It’s called hand charger. You don’t need electricity. It works by this revolutionary theory called: Kinetic Energy. It’s only been known to humans for oh about as long as we’ve had Wind- and Watermills.

  26. Aster Ginete on May 1, 2022 at 7:29 pm

    It was an ok movie for me. I didn’t like the lead character, mostly because I find him annoying and he makes stupid decisions.
    Train to Busan is still the best Korean Zombie film for me.

  27. N Torres on May 1, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    So did his parents die?

  28. ThatKidSON on May 1, 2022 at 7:30 pm

    Just finished watching this. Really enjoyed it

  29. GUCCITAEBERRY on May 1, 2022 at 7:32 pm

    it is a good movie like yeah enjoyable and a few good jumpscares too !

  30. TheFisherMan on May 1, 2022 at 7:32 pm

    the director of this movie is new to his job, so i think he did very nice as an inexperienced director.

  31. Nansugoi on May 1, 2022 at 7:33 pm

    This movie was so mentally frustrating for me.
    How stupid the MC was, how the girl never got hurt when she was was on the ground. Ofc she’s plot. How the guy survived all this time off of beer or whiskey.

  32. DJMinor5000 on May 1, 2022 at 7:37 pm

    The movie was somewhat lame, corny and unrealistic. The part that was totally lame was towards the end, when the girl and guy are fighting off zombies as they return to his apartment building, go into a working elevator when the power has been out for weeks. There was also the same zombies in all the zombie scenes that the duo must have killed off numerous times throughout the duration of the movie. Overall, maybe a bit entertaining, but still another lame, corny Asian Godzilla type horror movie. Michael Jackson’s Thriller meets Asian pop horror stars!

  33. Winzt on May 1, 2022 at 7:37 pm

    I kinda agree with you the movie Alive is good but not very good there are some details are missing, I like the twists of those 2 scenes (to those who watched you know what I mean) but its just 2, The other hit zombie Korean movies for example train to Busan has many suspense and twists although I recommend Alive , BUT there’s some details I agree too with him 1. They don’t have a single scratch 2. the fuck how did that girl survived locked with a zombie who hasn’t eaten for days 3. How the virus started 4. Where did the virus come 5. I wouldn’t be alive because the zombies are smart as heck , same with other zombies but with smartness +90. 6. They wouldn’t be alive when they were coming down their apartment or building- ill be dead as heck.

  34. DSH on May 1, 2022 at 7:38 pm

    Trash

  35. Sushiroonie on May 1, 2022 at 7:42 pm

    This movie really reminds me of the Korean webcomic called Sweet Home

  36. Kora Key on May 1, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    This movie had so many inconsistent and unbelievable scenarios 🙄

  37. Monarca on May 1, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    The situations were not convincing.

  38. Richard Andrews on May 1, 2022 at 7:43 pm

    It was pretty decent. There is only so much you can do with being stuck in the apartment the whole time. But I still enjoyed it. I think if it wasn’t Korean I would probably not have enjoyed it as much TBH. So take that as you will.

  39. edwin justo on May 1, 2022 at 7:44 pm

    Hey to be fair in the film they point out that this zombies do retain some of their human intelligence which is why they can open doors and this film had to jump straight into it cuz that was the point of it they made a point out of how late he wakes up normally and the movie begins with him waking up so its probably already late and the zombie thing started and only got bigger in scale to add to that plus the point of it hes a normal person put into this position and it doesn’t require a lot of set up to do that which they show the establishing necessary to go into the isolation period which is specially relatable to us atm so I would heavily disagree with your negative point on that

  40. donxponce on May 1, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    If they would of had to jump off at the end , that would of been a crazy realistic ending. I kind of enjoyed the movie a little more than train to busan , if not on the same level or better 🚦💯.. it had excellent pacing , action , and you actually cared for the characters & got to know them. There were some things I would change but it’s a solid movie. Makes you really feel that social distancing vibe. I’ll be watching this again

  41. Yashaswi Sahay on May 1, 2022 at 7:46 pm

    Awesome movie while staying at home quarantine fighting with the corona virus

  42. Ramiro Eloy on May 1, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    I loved this film so much. As a wannabe writer/filmmaker, there are so many routes you can take this film. But the way they did it was pretty satisfying.

  43. juliet punay on May 1, 2022 at 7:47 pm

    You ah ih and PARK shin hye very very Good acting BEST ACTOR A ND BEST ACTRESS

  44. Hanna Hani on May 1, 2022 at 7:48 pm

    So were his parents eaten? And what were thr notifications he got when they got on the helipcopter

  45. F a e l e i a on May 1, 2022 at 7:49 pm

    Yoo ah in acted really well, but his character was written to have the personality of a cardboard. Park Shin hye was worse. Her character was written to be a badass but she isn’t one. How do they all have food to spare when the lead has survived for so many days already? The man and his wife made no sense either. How does feeding her do anything? How was he so well stocked? I had so many questions. Why were they wasting walkie talkie batteries by chatting about nothing that built character? Why was shin hye’s character decked out in ice climbing gear when she has a fear of heights? Overall, I’m so unimpressed. The characters shouldn’t have survived.

  46. VERONICA SALINAS on May 1, 2022 at 7:50 pm

    Hablar de Español por favor 😟🥺

  47. KCraze Me on May 1, 2022 at 7:51 pm

    The two main characters have very thick plot armors.

  48. Ali Haider Rajput on May 1, 2022 at 7:53 pm

    parents survive or nah ?

  49. Daywalker373 on May 1, 2022 at 7:55 pm

    It was decent. I liked it, but didn’t love it.

    For example, it kind of implied that he ran out of water on day 5 or 10 or whatever, and the running water stopped too. But he kept going no problem until day 20 at least….but how??? They never addressed how he solved that problem.

    Personally I also didn’t feel much chemistry between the two leads, their relationship seemed a little stiff.

    The ending was also super predictable.

  50. Joe on May 1, 2022 at 7:56 pm

    The first half of the movie is really well written, so mucho so it makes me think “what if the male protagonist actually died in the suicide scene and the second half of the movie is just a ‘hallucination’?” I mean, that explains pretty much every inconsistency in the second half of the movie. From the magical appearance of another survivor that lives right in front of the male character; survivor that not only didn’t appear in the past 10 days, but didn’t even heard the shots the policewoman made nor did she heard the male protagonist yelling at the zombies. It also explains that weird ending where they didn’t hear the helicopter right behind them.

Leave a Comment