Heritage Style vs. Workwear – Carl Murawski Review

Heritage Style vs. Workwear – Carl Murawski Review

0:00 Introduction
1:14 The Difference
2:00 Pants
5:18 Jackets
8:22 Boots
9:20 Price

Products in this video:
-Carhartt Rigid Duck Pants: https://bit.ly/2EuC5H9
-Taylor Stitch Chore Pant: https://bit.ly/3nWlQnr
-Duluth Superior Fire Hose Jacket: https://bit.ly/3fAiwLC
-Freenote Mariner: https://bit.ly/3m4AhVT
-LC King Chore Coat: https://bit.ly/2Jb7i4H
-Red Wing Iron Ranger: https://bit.ly/2YHaybV

That cool mug: https://prf.hn/l/64dPRLP
#CarlMurawski #ForMen #workwear
PRODUCTS I LOVE (affiliate links):
1. The best sunglasses ever: http://bit.ly/2IykfS4
2. Awesome boots: https://bit.ly/34j2FMV
3. The best work jacket: https://bit.ly/3pxXiTb
4. Made in USA Tee Shirt: https://bit.ly/3yAma1p
5. The best casual jacket: https://prf.hn/l/7EvkaOo
6. The ULTIMATE Adventure Jacket: https://bit.ly/2QpCo8w
7. Warm Weather Socks: https://bit.ly/3fHxaRS
8. Cold Weather Socks: https://bit.ly/3fjmZE1
9. Ultimate Outdoor Hat: https://bit.ly/3aTrxNL
10. My Favorite Flashlight: https://bit.ly/3lfQVC0
11. The Worlds Best Hoodie: http://bit.ly/3qXvhV1
12. Best Phone Case: https://bit.ly/3fParUe
13. Amazing briefcase: https://bit.ly/3qT5ZYq
14. Kickass backpack: https://go.magik.ly/ml/uced/
15. My favorite work shirt: https://bit.ly/38Irkhr
16. Excellent wool vest: https://bit.ly/3bk3DLt
17.THE Multitool: https://prf.hn/l/KL9ejDN
18. Essential Universal Cable: https://bit.ly/2RJNJoj
19. Bison Beanie: https://bit.ly/34daIL6
20. Cooler to rule them all: https://bit.ly/3t26Cj4

-Website: https://www.carlmurawski.com

-Instagram: http://bit.ly/2qIHzaB

Reviews of clothing, boots, and accessories for men, along with style advice and life philosophy. I’ve been working with my hands for my entire life as a mechanic, tow truck driver, and eventually a licensed electrician. Being a blue collar guy, I look for certain elements in a product: is it durable? Is it high-quality? Will it perform well over its service life? Whether boots, pants, jackets, or tools I believe it’s best to buy once and cry once by getting the best you can afford. With so many options these days, choosing the best product can become a difficult decision, but that’s where I come in. Helping you stay stylish, rugged, and handsome.
I don’t care where it’s made as long as it’s made well, and allows you to buy less and buy better.

50 Comments

  1. Strength and Bulk Fitness on July 24, 2021 at 8:58 pm

    I was thinking of getting the Carthartt Detroit Mechanic jacket but I’m not a mechanic, HA!



  2. rumplefourskin on July 24, 2021 at 9:01 pm

    Work pants vs Heritage style pants are the biggest thing here imo. My boots wear through my work pants and overalls so quickly from how much walking I do that I really wouldn’t want to be spending the 2x-3x more on pants when they get wrecked so quickly. I love the strong duck canvas fabric for work pants because of the way the tears don’t continue like they do on denim or twill. It makes such a huge difference. Canvas weave is a lot nicer to patch up because of this as well I’ve found.



  3. Mickey Newlin on July 24, 2021 at 9:01 pm

    Anyone know the brand of the leather jacket on the left side of the thumbnail? Haha, I’m trash, I know…. but, seriously



  4. Michael Begin on July 24, 2021 at 9:02 pm

    THANK YOU!



  5. Railroad Skater on July 24, 2021 at 9:02 pm

    I would think the thicker material of Carhartt would keep you warmer in the cold than thinner, softer material on the other. The skinny belt loops on the heritage pants are laughable!! At least they’re wide enough for wider belts, which would be advisable for workmen.



  6. AussieSoulSurfer on July 24, 2021 at 9:02 pm

    I found this to be true I wore a Redwing 1907 to work once and realised this ain’t a work boot it’s a style boot haha



  7. Victor Cross on July 24, 2021 at 9:03 pm

    Warning: this guy is not an electrician.



  8. Mj on July 24, 2021 at 9:05 pm

    I love your analysis! Thank You!
    Looking for my hubster! 😁
    Definitely soaking this in!



  9. Yeenosaur on July 24, 2021 at 9:06 pm

    Hey, I know you have negative opinions on anything in Filsons catalog that isn’t mackinaw wool, but is there any of their flannels that seem to be a good deal to you? They have a $100 shirt that I’d love to hear your opinions on known as the "Field Flannel Shirt".



  10. Carpe Diem on July 24, 2021 at 9:06 pm

    I have been stuck on jobsites with guys like Carl. The "professional" tradesman. Sitting listening to them at break times are unbearable, the lectures are infuriating. The guys who have to go and correct the work of guys like this, do it quietly and stoicly. Also, guys on jobsites who are always dressed like a "pro" are an inside joke. I have never seen any journeyman wireman stomping around a jobsite in a pair of boots that look like they were made for a rpg storm trooper, except maybe guys on a break from a logging camp.



  11. Andy D on July 24, 2021 at 9:06 pm

    Denim scene and heritage boots are also out of control.



  12. Lycan Thorpe on July 24, 2021 at 9:07 pm

    Heritage vs work…… Chances are the guy who made your heritage boot was wearing a work



  13. saleem waheed on July 24, 2021 at 9:07 pm

    I don’t work in my super expensive RRL or Filson. I leave the actual work to Dickies and Levi"s.



  14. Andrew Kosim on July 24, 2021 at 9:10 pm

    Love the talk! Have you heard a brand called iron and resin? It seems they have heritage style looks on their product.



  15. Carlos on July 24, 2021 at 9:14 pm

    Heritage style is just clothing gentrification



  16. trevor walker on July 24, 2021 at 9:15 pm

    Another awesome & informative video, dude that ORIS diver looks so damn good on your wrist‼️😎👍



  17. Micah S on July 24, 2021 at 9:16 pm

    Where do you think selvedge denim jeans fall into this



  18. Edwin De Nime on July 24, 2021 at 9:16 pm

    i wear those carhartt as harritage style and i get so much compliments on them and they are my most favorite pair of pats



  19. Texas born refinery made on July 24, 2021 at 9:17 pm

    I like your videos, I hope I don’t get ridiculed in the comments for these two things I am about to say though.

    1, you have a good sense of style for men’s clothing. Just because you care about how you look doesn’t make you any less of a man

    2, it seems like some of the clothes you pick out are “IMO” outrageously expensive. 128$ for a pair of pants, 400$ for a jacket, or 350$ for a flannel I saw in another video. Not everyone can afford such items, I have paid 250$ for work boots but any blue collar worker on their feet all day knows cheap boots will kill your feet. So would you consider picking clothes that are more in the budget to most people



  20. Dom N on July 24, 2021 at 9:19 pm

    Hey Carl, Thank you so much for another great video….You should be a professional news commentator! I always buy the work wear. Its a much better value and will take anything you throw at it mot to mention comfortable to work in once its broken in… I always buy Carhartt… jackets, pants, bibs and shirts etc. My other favorite is Filson . I have two jackets that are over 30 years old… they will keep you dry in the rain snow and get an awesome patina… Its stiff as a board when I put it on but softens up as it gets warm…. Keep healthy and safe Carl!!! Looking forward to your next video!



  21. Sergei Babich on July 24, 2021 at 9:20 pm

    Listen to this Guy he knows what he’s talking about. I know from experience that the really nice slim fitting Dickies are trash for work, first day lifting my leg up a ladder the Rear split on me. Good topic



  22. Andy D on July 24, 2021 at 9:20 pm

    Glad you addresses this. I’m picturing one of these heritage hipsters walking on to one of our jobsites



  23. Marvin Smith on July 24, 2021 at 9:21 pm

    I wear my Iron Rangers to work everyday! I work as a social media influencer. It’s a tough job. Sometimes I’m on my feet 15 whole minutes at a stretch.



  24. Xbone187Ps4! on July 24, 2021 at 9:23 pm

    Blame hipsters for making workwear cool and then live off their parents



  25. Chawn Crawley on July 24, 2021 at 9:25 pm

    I did linework for 15yrs in Filson. I’m still Butt hurt that so much of their legendary stuff went mainstream-and offshore.



  26. Calvin Bauer on July 24, 2021 at 9:25 pm

    gotta love those double ducks



  27. gqfiend on July 24, 2021 at 9:26 pm

    Double front duck in HERITAGE??? That’s silly.



  28. renzokukenleonhart on July 24, 2021 at 9:27 pm

    I thought the guy in the thumbnail was Ryan from fortnine but with a fake mustache.



  29. PEEE CEEE on July 24, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    When I’m flush with money I buy stuff by the Japanese heritage clothing company, Freewheelers. Expensive as hell, but so well made and authentic down to the buttons. No logos and only I would know that the red and black buffalo plaid flannel shirt I’ve got on costs $300. I would gladly pay less for something if it made just as well and fits my Asian frame, but unfortunately none exists so I need to pay more to meet my personal specs. The upside is the the garments will probably outlast me 🙂



  30. Stridewise on July 24, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    Great video!!! Excellent topic



  31. Scott Bulow on July 24, 2021 at 9:28 pm

    Union electrician! Likewise. I love the way you present yourself and your videos! Keep em coming brother!



  32. jeff on July 24, 2021 at 9:30 pm

    Carl – Check out Grease Point Workwear if you haven’t.



  33. -_- on July 24, 2021 at 9:31 pm

    Top vid once again.



  34. Joshua Smith on July 24, 2021 at 9:32 pm

    When I was in college I worked in a cabinet shop, nothing TOO dangerous, but I found a pair of American eagle leather work boots on eBay that I wore for 4 years. At work and for style. Only pair of boots I had until I bought a pair of res wing moc toes. Only issue I ever had is the rubber sole starting to horizontally split which I just super glued and had no more issues. I think they were 40 dollars. Loved those boots.



  35. Noeh Villarreal on July 24, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    Heritage style is the blue collar equivalent of stolen valor



  36. Blake Noneya on July 24, 2021 at 9:35 pm

    I like the look of some heritage style clothing. I got some from my Paw when he passed away, and some from my dad when I moved. But, the workwear of today does allow for me freedom of movement. I have a Carhartt full-swing coat that I love. I typically combine it with my bibs in winter time or with my fleece lined pants if it’s a bit nippy out. However, I got a jacket from my paw, forget the brand, that I love wearing more than anything. It’s a "winter" jacket that I usually use with a pullover or a vest. But it has buttons, and no gussets, etc. Very stiff feeling. Love it though. It can be worn casual, but it was designed for work when he worked in the trades. Now, my other favorite coat is an older style that would be considered heritage. Got it as a gift from an exes dad. Not sure it’s a thing, but he called it a dock jacket as it was mostly worn by dock workers and on boats in the day. He got it handed down to him. While it does zip, it doesn’t have a lot of maneuvering capability. No gussets, it’s stiff, and has a button up flap that covers the zipper. But again, I love it and do tend to wear it more than my Carhartt.



  37. Brian Garrow on July 24, 2021 at 9:37 pm

    I’ve worked in Carhartt work wear for over 40 years. From my first job as a boilermaker apprentice to my last job as a coal miner I have always been lucky with this brand of clothes. In fact my daughter used to tease me about having a Carhartt fetish because that is what she saw me wearing nearly every day of my life. The funny thing is I have given my less worn items to my son who has a similar build to me and has a small farm (but is a high school history teacher). He swears by his bibs as the best clothing for chores around his farm. And I admit that I get a little wistful when I see him chopping wood or running the tractor while wearing my old work clothes.



  38. synergydynamics on July 24, 2021 at 9:39 pm

    I’ve got boots now….any black Friday recommendations for clothing?



  39. Ol Rooster Cogburn on July 24, 2021 at 9:40 pm

    I don’t know why but I feel like I should throw this out there. If you like rubber grips on your hammers you’re not going to like the hammer loop that’s sewn into your pants. Leave those for the hickory handled fellas. Get you a hammer loop for your belt if you’re not wearing pouches



  40. Robert Larsen on July 24, 2021 at 9:40 pm

    Loved when Carhartt went to Full Swing…when I had to work. When I went to the office, people always did a double take when I rocked the LC King chore coat in raw denim. But you are 100% correct; if you swing a splitting maul in the LC King, you may wreck or blow a seam…not so with work-ready work wear.



  41. Robert Morrison on July 24, 2021 at 9:42 pm

    Had to buy some new workwear clothes and found out its in style. Ended up with carhartt duck overalls. are the filson ccf overalls more fashion or work?



  42. Yeenosaur on July 24, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    My Thursday boots haven’t held up near as good as my $45 from a thrift store Sketcher roughout leather work boots. Workwear is heritage gear. Skip heritage gear.



  43. BoneThroneTriumph on July 24, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    "Heritage" is an aesthetic based on workwear. Workwear is what I take off in a hurry once I get home.



  44. Edwin De Nime on July 24, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    I wear the carhart for work and style amazing piece of pants



  45. Hmoob Mikah on July 24, 2021 at 9:43 pm

    Filson is a great example of a heritage workwear type of garment. Their newer coats and jackets look very flattering, but I doubt they will stand the everyday beating of a real world setting.



  46. Matthew Schauff on July 24, 2021 at 9:46 pm

    You should look into 1620USA work wear! They have a union discount, 100% made in the USA, even grown in the USA out of Maine or Mass, good brand. Love their utility pants



  47. Lawrence H on July 24, 2021 at 9:50 pm

    A great point well made brother. We would all love to go to work in the heritage gear if it was as durable and affordable, but walking on site in $1000 outfit is not realistic, and damn expensive to replace!



  48. yyc976 on July 24, 2021 at 9:51 pm

    I started wearing more heritage style "nice workwear" when I stopped using tools and started supervising. Dont have to worry about wearing out the nice stuff when I dont do any work…



  49. Eckster93 on July 24, 2021 at 9:52 pm

    I just want to say to you how helpful and interesting I find your videos. You are very well spoken and very clearly do your research before you post videos. I appreciate your objectivity that is often accompanied by personal anecdotes. I’ve purchased several items you’ve reviewed or mentioned to find the quality to be exactly what I was looking for. You’ve filled a niche on youtube that I have always looked for. Men’s rugged fashion mixed with work wear and made in USA products. Thank you for all you do. I hope you had a great Thanksgiving and a wonderful Christmas.



  50. gqfiend on July 24, 2021 at 9:53 pm

    I’ll be watching ALL of Carl’s vids thanks to this comment section. It is RICH with recommendations and other input. Thanks, all!